We Do More Than Just Play

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Brave New World of Digital Intimacy December 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — willis57 @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

While reading this article “Brave New World of Digital Intimacy” by Clive Thompson, I felt that the information was not entirely applying to me. I have a few Facebook friends-33 I believe. I have had more-maxing out at maybe 50-60, but I found myself deleting them because I did not talk to them, nor did I care about what they were doing. I looked at it as a tool for people in my classes to get a hold of me if they needed information about a class. I would add the people I went to elementary school with or high school, but I would quickly delete them after I felt they had enough time to look around.

The one part of the article I felt that I could relate to was about the conversation starting benefits of status updates and the newsfeed. As I was reading the article in a computer lab on campus, I was annoyed by a guy who walked in and started talking. Not only was he interrupting my concentration, but he sounded like an idiot, so I posted a status update telling the guy to shut up. Granted I did not know him, but I still wanted to say something. Sure enough, I got a text a little bit after asking what the guy way saying. I chuckled to myself because I realized that the article had hit the nail on the head and I would not have thought about it prior to reading it. It was something that was assumed and accepted.

On the other hand, I find the status updates as a publicly, private message. I see what the updates are, but I hardly use them as conversation starters because I feel like I should not know the information ahead of time.

I guess it’s here to stay, at least until the next thing comes up to knock Facebook off the top spot.

 

Leave a Reply

